The Aminet Files: Part 1 – Ham Heaven (game)

(screenshot by Old School Game Blog)

Hi and welcome to a new series here on Old School Game Blog. As most Amiga enthusiasts, I’ve always been very fond of Aminet. Aminet is like the worlds largest library of Amiga software. Here you’ll find everything from Workbench snapshots to shoot’em up games. I don’t know how many hours I’ve spent digging through old Aminet CD-s on the hunt for some new stuff, but I can assure it’s many. πŸ˜‰

Anway, this new series is called The Aminet Files. In each “episode” I will select a random game, tool, demo, picture etc. and display it here on this blog. I hope this is something you will enjoy having a look at.

So, here is the first “episode” with Ham Heaven!

Ham Heaven (game)

Download: http://aminet.net/game/actio/hamhven.lha

This game was written in AMOS by Robert W. Benjamin back in 1997. If I don’t remember incorrectly, he submitted quite a few titles to Amiga mags back then. Anyone else remembering this or am I far out here? πŸ™‚ I must check my huge stock of Amiga Format issues for this.

The story of the game goes like this. Henry the Hot Dog is in danger. The company will be sold and hundreds of workers will lose their jobs if Henry is killed. Guide him through numerous levels, while avoiding evil creatures. Make enough hamburgers and go to the next level. Ham Heaven is like BurgerTime, the old classic. There are three skill levels, easy – medium – hard, and you can switch between PAL and NTSC mode. The game doesn’t seem to have a scoring system with points, but it contains items you can pick up to defeat enemies (like an ice cream or a bottle with unknown substances).

Here’s a few screenshots from the game:

(screenshot by Old School Game Blog)

(screenshot by Old School Game Blog)

(screenshot by Old School Game Blog)

(screenshot by Old School Game Blog)

Thanks for visiting my blog and hope to see you again soon. πŸ™‚ Don’t forget to follow if you like reading about old Amiga stuff (and other platforms too). I’ll dig up more random stuff from Aminet in the future. Cheers!

7 comments

  1. Yeah Aminet is a great resource. I loved the free Aminet CDs you used to get free on the cover of Amiga Format. Shame I gave them away years ago!

    Like

Leave a Reply

