Recorded Amiga Games

Recorded Amiga Games

There are plenty of excellent websites covering the Amiga out there, but the one I’m going to write about today is a bit special. The site is called Recorded Amiga Games and it contains a vast amount of (you guessed it..) Amiga longplays.

For those of you who don’t know what a longplay is, here’s the official explanation from Recorded Amiga Games:

A longplay is a play-through of a computer or video game, created with the intent of completing it as fully as possible, mainly for the purposes of nostalgia, preservation, and possibly as a walkthrough. Unlike hectic speedruns, there is no time constraint aside from those imposed by bandwidth/filesize concerns.

As you can see, a longplay is perhaps the closest you can get to a game without actually playing it. Not enough time to play through a difficult game like Project-X? A longplay is both your answer and saviour.

Recorded Amiga Games provides you with a selection of over 700 different movies. Some of them quite long. They’ve recorded a nine-hour session of Wings for example. Isn’t that something? A great achievement to say the least.

Most of the classic and legendary Amiga games have been recorded and preserved for the future. Project-X, Lemmings, Shadow of the Beast, Battle Squadron, Stardust, Rodland, Superfrog, Moonstone.. the list goes on and on. Ever wondered how Benefactor pans out? Recorded Amiga Games provides you with the answer.

Here’s an example of Banshee AGA taken from YouTube:

Impressed? I’m sure is. I haven’t watched the whole thing though, as I haven’t managed to complete Banshee AGA yet.. still playing it from time to time on my Amiga 1200. 😉

The website does not only include movies, but Online games and music as well. There are currently over 6000 songs available for listening! Just click on the appropriate icon and the tune will start playing. Excellent stuff. The games are funny as well, so give them a try.

In short, I highly recommend visiting Recorded Amiga Games. It is truly a shining example of what the Amiga community can accomplish if working together. Enjoy the videos and have a happy Easter!

5 comments

  1. This is a really cool site. I will try this when I am back home from holiday. I lot of games I never could finish. Well you had the Action Replay which was a great piece of hardware to get you further with games.

    Like

  2. It’s a cool site, no doubt about that. 🙂 Impressive what they’ve managed to create.

    Ahh.. the Action Replay!:) I wasn’t lucky enough to own one unfortunately, but I remember a friend who had one for his Amiga 500. Excellent stuff.

    Like

    • I was just at my parents place when I read the comment and I was going to take a picture of the action replay before I would leave. Forgot. Ah well next weekend is mother’s day so I have another chance.

      Like

  3. It is really a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

